Heading Logo

Summit, Portage County schools splitting $2.1 million in first casino-tax revenues

by Jeremy Nobile | Reporter Published: January 9, 2013 1:53 PM
  • 1 of 2 Photos | View More Photos

According to the overall breakdown, revenue accumulates in the Ohio Casino Tax Revenue Fund, and by the 15th day following the end of a calendar quarter, money is transferred from that fund into various areas.

Ohio schools will receive 34 percent of the revenue, while 51 percent is divvied out to county governments. An additional 5 percent is allocated to casino "host" cities.

The remaining balance is split between other smaller funds. The Casino Control Commission Fund will receive 3 percent, the Ohio State Racing Commission Fund receives 3 percent, the Law Enforcement Training Fund receives 2 percent and the final 2 percent is given to the Problem Casino Gambling and Addictions Fund.

Here's a what some schools in Summit and Portage counties are slated to receive:

Akron City Schools: $463,671.12

Aurora Board of Education: $60,151.26

Barberton Board of Education: $79,134.01

Cuyahoga Falls City Schools: $102,906.65

Green Local Schools: $86,742.70

Hudson City School District: $96,011.41

Kent City Board of Education: $68,990.44

Mogadore Local School District: $19,269.68

Nordonia Hills City Schools: $79,270.04

Norton City Schools: $51,584.12

Ravenna: $58,183.66

Revere Local School District: $53,927.90

Rootstown Local School District: $26,309.68

Stow-Munroe Falls City School District: $111,597.35

Streetsboro City Schools: $44,995.70

Tallmadge City School District: $51,543.25

Twinsburg Board of Education: $90,229.03


Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.